Who are you?

who-am-i-001

This post is a reflection on myself based on some of the questions asked in the book in Chapter 5.

  • What foods do you find hard to resist?A. Chips – I love the crunch, so I guess I need crunchy foods. Cheese, dairy products, flaky buttery pastries, kababs, ground meat, spring rolls, turnovers, samosas – i clearly love packaged little appetizers! I can eat a bunch of appetizers and call it a meal.
  • Which ones aren’t your favorites?A. Bitter foods like bitter gourd, kale, and other bitter leaves in a salad, bland food, duck anything (i’m allergic to duck protein), raw meat, raw fish, not a fan of salads and cold foods. Can’t eat raw cauliflower, broccoli.
  • Are you a picky eater, or will you eat anything?A. I’m not too picky, but there needs to be flavor. I can eat almost anything, especially if I really have to.
  • And how does your week usually play out?A. I work 5 days a week. My life is mostly sitting in front of a computer all day. Some days are busier than most. Weekend could go anyway – doing nothing at all, or a bunch of stuff including work sometimes.
  • When do you tend to succeed, and where do you tend to make mistakes?A. I tend to succeed when I have the freedom and the privacy. When no one’s watching or judging me. When I have no obligations to fulfill.
    I tend to make mistakes when I’m stressed out or really bored.
  • How much weight do you want to lose?A. I have to lose 32 lbs. to be below the obese category in Indian BMI (27 or below). In the long run, I need to lose 60 lbs. to be in the normal category.
  • When do you get up in the morning?A. Varies, I hate getting up in the morning. As I live close to my workplace I can afford to wake up as late as 8 am. Usually I try to wake up between 7 and 7:30 am. If I am ambitious to squeeze in a morning workout, I wake up around 6 – 6:30 am.
    On Fridays, I wake up at around 8:45am. On weekends it can go past 9:30 but usually never later than 11 am. I am very possessive about my sleep, I need at least 7 to 8 hours to get things done during the day.
  • Do you like to eat breakfast right away, or not until you get to work?A. I never eat breakfast at work. I try to eat breakfast right before leaving for work. If I’m running out of time, I have gone with just a cup of milk tea (indian chai). I hate doing that though.
  • Do you have to cook for a family, or is it just you, eating whatever and whenever you want?A. I have a husband to cook for. But he has learned to cook too. I can’t eat whatever and whenever I want because of this, which is a good thing. 🙂
  • Do you avoid the kitchen at all costs, or are you constantly planning what to cook next?A. There are days when I’m extremely lazy or just swamped with work, so I have avoided the kitchen. But my husband makes sure we eat something no matter what. So we usually eat homemade food. We rely on healthy Indian food for subsistance. We go out to eat occasionally but try not to – not only because it gets expensive, but we don’t know what has gone into the food. So we trust our own food. Hence this diet fits me perfectly. 🙂
  • Are you a vegetarian?A. No. My husband calls me a carnivore! If I don’t have something non-vegetarian to go with my meal, I need something crunchy like a pappad at least, or a bunch of different sides. He comes from a strictly vegetarian family but has since converted. He has his apprehensions to a non-vegetarian’s life because of this – it’s difficult to change completely, but he’s done an amazing effort for a vegetarian. He did this mostly because he was a rebel and also because he believes it’s difficult to live anywhere in this world as a vegetarian. But from a health perspective, we believe vegetarian food is the best.
  • Do you have to eat gluten-free?A. Nope. But we’re predominantly rice eaters, so we inevitably eat a gluten-free diet.
  • Are you an exercise fanatic, or has it been a while since you last hit the
    gym?A. I used to love working out when I was living on my own. I was fit at that time. Now, after being overweight I feel sluggish and lethargic. I’ve become a couch potato. I can sit in one place for hours. I’ve been trying to change this lately by increasing my walking routine. That’s also where boosting my metabolism and getting on this diet comes in.
  • Do you love routine or hate it?A. I think I hate it. I get into routines only because I have to but I like to mix things up to keep it interesting. I can’t eat the same thing over and over again. I’ve seen some people eat the same damn salad for lunch and I can’t imagine doing that.
  • Does your job require an atypical schedule?A. Not always. It’s usually a 9-5 schedule.
  • Are you a carb fanatic or a big meat eater?A. Carbs baby!! I don’t think I go by a single day without carbs. Rice is a staple in my diet. If I’m not having rice, I would be having noodles, pasta, wheat bread, rotis, etc. I love meat too, but I can go without it if I really have to.
  • Do you get hungriest in the afternoon, or at night?A. Afternoon I think. I have a good dinner, so I rarely get hungry at night. Unfortunately I think dinner is the most comprehensive meal I eat, so I want to change that to have substantial meals in breakfast and lunch.
  • Do you usually eat on purpose, or do you find yourself eating when you didn’t intend to eat?A/ I eat on purpose. Like most people I get cravings too. Usually when I see people eat on tv lol! But I don’t make it a habit. I usually am aware of what and when I eat.
  • Do you tend to eat at the same times every day, or are your eating habits random?A. I guess they’re random because I don’t always have food ready. I have to prepare it before I can eat it. So if the cooking process takes long, the eating time will change. I hope to get more organized on the diet.
  • Do you get up early or sleep late?A. I sleep late (not too late) and wake up late. As I said, I’m possessive about my sleep.
  • Do you rush out the door?A. Hell yeah!
  • Will it be tough to eat breakfast within 30 minutes of waking?A. I think so. But I’m eager to try this out coz it’s a lovely thing!
  • Do you stay up late or eat dinner late?A. Yes dinner is usually late. I have had dinner as late as midnight and gone to bed almost immediately after. Which I know is a bad thing to do, so lately I’m making sure I eat as early as I can, even if that means not waiting for my husband to join me.
  • Are there foods you know you can’t have on the Fast Metabolism Diet that you eat frequently?A. Dairy – waaaah I will miss dairy so much. I eat yogurt reguarly (indian dahi), and I have milk in my tea. And I love cheese!!
    Wheat – I eat in the form of whole wheat bread, bagels or french toast in the morning. These things I will miss. Noodles are made of wheat too, at least the type I buy, including ramen. I have sugar in my tea too. And tea of course is not allowed as it has some amount of caffeine. Rest of the stuff I don’t eat frequently.
  • Are there foods on the diet you like but don’t eat very much, that you might enjoy eating more of?A. I think so. Beans, cabbage, cucumbers, leeks, parsnips, asian pears, cherries, figs, guava, kiwis, mangoes, oranges, peaches, pineapple, watermelon, beef (yes i don’t eat beef often), deli meats, halibut, sole fillet, tuna, sausages, arrowroot, steel-cut oats, tapioca, egg whites, lamb, calamari, liver (chicken), scallops, shrimp, hummus, tahini
  • Compare your diet diary to the diet rules in Chapter Four, and see which ones might be a challenge for you. What can you realistically live with, and what has to be modified?A. I think phase 2 will be a challenge because of the lack of carbs and fats! I mean what the heck! But I want to see if I can make this work somehow.
    Phase 1 is fine because the carbs are there plus the lentils. I think I’ll feel at home. Phase 3 is basically party time with the fats added!
  • Where are you going to have to compromise—cheese? sugar? And where are you going to feel like you’re getting away with something great—avocados? almond butter?A. Yes Cheese and Sugar! And also milk and yogurt!
    Avocados? I suspect they give me a headache, but I’m willing to try it by making homemade guacamole. Almond and cashew buttter? Interesting but not sure I’ll need it.
    After these questions, there a bunch of stuff written about the importance of planning ahead. This is the challenging part for me, but hey that’s why I started this blog!!

After these questions, there a bunch of stuff written about the importance of planning ahead. This is the challenging part for me, but hey that’s why I started this blog!!

Go ahead and ask yourself these questions too.

Leave a Reply

