How to roast vegetables without oil – Phase 2

20160424_114236.jpg

Phase 2 is one of the toughest parts of the FMD diet but also the most rewarding for me. I tend to lose weight more on this phase than any of the others (except on week 3 when it stalled on Phase 2).

On my fourth week I made a delicious baked lemon sole filet – rubbed in spices, ginger, garlic, lemon and cilantro. To go with it I tried the below recipe for roasted vegetables.

I used a zucchini, few mushrooms (I have to admit, I did not like the mushrooms), and red bell pepper. You can add asparagus tips or quartered endives to these as well. I tossed it with salt, pepper, tiny bit of chilli powder/paprika, roasted garlic and herbs powder, 2 tsp of apple cider vinegar, 1 tsp of malt vinegar, and a splash of coconut aminos. I added some dried oregano and some freshly grated lemon zest.

If you have balsamic vinegar on hand I guess that would be best to use. Since I did not, I used a combination of apple cider vinegar, malt vinegar and coconut aminos. (it’s all about what you got in the pantry really).

I roasted the vegetables in the oven at 350 degrees for 15 minutes. Took em out and tossed em around again. Then they went back in the oven, this time on broil for about 7 minutes.

I used the below video as a reference guide:

Leave a Reply

