Chana Masala – Phase 1

I made this chana masala without oil using the recipe from this pin I found on Pinterest.

I had it for both lunch and dinner for Phase 1. While it was good and easy to eat, it does get boring. My husband especially found it boring lol! But that’s because we only had the chana masala over quinoa. I should probably make some grilled veggies to make it more interesting. But it’s definitely a good recipe.

I did not use canned chickpeas for this. I had soaked dry chickpeas overnight, then added the soaked chickpeas with all the other ingredients. This is a slow cooker recipe, but as I do not have a slow cooker, I used a pressure cooker. It definitely speeds up the cooking process. If you want to use a slow cooker, check the link in the pin for instructions.

Serves 8

4 cups water
1 large onion, diced
28 oz. can diced tomatoes
6-oz. can tomato paste
⅓ cup chopped fresh cilantro leaves
2 tsp garam masala
2 tsp garlic powder (I used 4 cloves of fresh garlic)
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp cayenne pepper (more if you like more of a kick)
2 tsp ground coriander
1 tsp turmeric
2 tsp sea salt
3 cups dried chickpeas – soaked overnight

Method:

Combine everything in your pressure cooker and cook for 6 whistles, or until the chickpeas are tender.

 

Leave a Reply

